The U.S. portable handheld market at a glance
| Brand (Distributor) | Tube Voltage | Standard Warranty | Extended Coverage | Price | Service | X-Ray Tube | User-Replaceable Battery | Display | Purchase |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nomad Pro 2 (DEXIS / KaVo)1 | 60 kV | 1 year | Paid plan | $9,910 | Distributor network | Not disclosed | Yes (handset) | Touchpad | Distributors only |
| EzRay Air P (Vatech)2 | 65 kV | 2 years | Not published | $6,900 | Dealer network | Not disclosed | Yes | LCD | Dealers |
| CS 2500P (Carestream Dental)8 | 70 kV | 12 months | 24-mo kit (+$500) | $6,500 | Carestream network | Not disclosed | Rechargeable (charging station) | Preset control panel | Carestream online store |
| MaxRay BX-3000K (Iridium)3 | 65 kV | 1 year | Not published | $5,800 | Distributor | Not disclosed | Internal + backup battery | OLED | Distributor |
| X-Vision (Flight)4 | 60 kV | 1 year | Paid plan | $5,150 | Ship to repair depot | Toshiba (Japan) | Yes (spare) | Segment display | Distributor |
| MobileX T-100 (Video Dental)5 | 70 kV | 1 year | Paid plan | $4,795 | Vendor RMA | Toshiba (Japan) | Internal | Backlit LED screen | Vendor |
| XRD 70 (XRD Dental Equipment)6 | 70 kV | 2 years | Up to 5 years | $3,990 | In-house, Clermont FL | Canon D-045 (Japan) | Yes | Color LCD | Direct from XRD |
Prices reflect manufacturer or primary-distributor pricing referenced by Clinicians Report (July 2024) and manufacturer/distributor listings. Third-party resellers may list lower or higher pricing depending on regional inventory, refurbished status, or promotional cycles. The same applies to the XRD 70 — some authorized resellers may offer alternative pricing. For warranty, parts, and service coverage in the United States, contact XRD directly.
Want a closer head-to-head? Read XRD 70 vs NOMAD Pro 2 and XRD 70 vs Vatech EzRay Air. Still have questions? See our portable dental X-ray FAQ.
Portable X-ray machine price: what should you expect to pay?
Across the units in the table above, portable dental X-ray machine prices in the U.S. run from about $3,990 at the value end (XRD 70) to $9,910 at the premium end (Nomad Pro 2 by DEXIS), with most established handhelds landing between $5,000 and $7,000. Three things move the number: the brand's distribution model (direct sale versus multi-tier dealer networks), the generator specs (70 kV units generally command more than 60–65 kV units), and what's bundled — warranty length, case, strap, charger, training.
Sticker price is only the entry fee. The ownership math over 5–7 years includes the standard warranty (12 months versus 2 years is a real gap), extended-coverage cost, replacement battery pricing, and what a repair costs in shipping, intermediaries, and downtime. The XRD 70 sits at $3,990 all-inclusive with a 2-year warranty, a published price, and in-house U.S. service — which is exactly the combination this guide was built to compare.
What the XRD 70 adds
All-inclusive pricing, no hidden plans
$3,990 is the total price, not the starting price. The 2-year warranty is included; no protection-plan upsell is required to keep standard coverage.
2-year warranty standard, extendable to 5
Standard coverage doubles the 1-year baseline of most handhelds in this class, including the Nomad Pro 2 by DEXIS. Optional extension to 5 years keeps long-term cost predictable.
Coverage that keeps your practice running
Ultra Gold annual coverage includes a loaner unit while your XRD is being serviced, so there is no multi-week downtime. The XRD Care Club, an Equipment-as-a-Service membership, is available to practices in Florida only.
Premium imaging hardware, not a premium price
The XRD 70 runs at 70 kV through a Canon D-045 Japanese tube. The category's best-known unit runs at 60 kV. You get higher-voltage imaging and a named Japanese tube at a fraction of the premium-brand price.
See why practices choose the XRD 70.
Frequently asked questions
Is the XRD 70 FDA cleared?
Yes. The XRD 70 holds FDA 510(k) clearance K231449 and complies with 21 CFR Part 1020 for intraoral radiographic imaging in the United States.
How much does a portable dental X-ray machine cost?
Sourced U.S. pricing in this guide runs from about $3,990 (XRD 70) to $9,910 (Nomad Pro 2 by DEXIS), with most established handhelds between $5,000 and $7,000. The XRD 70 is $3,990, all-inclusive, with a 2-year warranty.
Does the XRD 70 work with my sensors?
Yes. It works with standard intraoral digital sensors, phosphor storage plates, and film. No proprietary sensor is required.
Where is the XRD 70 serviced?
In-house at our facility in Clermont, Florida, with parts in stock. Ship from anywhere in the U.S.; most repairs are completed within a few business days of receipt.
Can the XRD 70 be used for veterinary dentistry?
Yes. It is used in both dental and veterinary practices for companion-animal dental radiography.
What warranty comes with the XRD 70?
Every XRD 70 includes a 2-year standard warranty, extendable to 5 years.
Sources & notes
- Nomad Pro 2 (DEXIS): Specifications per DEXIS product information (dexis.com) and authorized distributor listings. Price per Clinicians Report, July 2024, Vol. 17 Issue 7 (CR Foundation).
- EzRay Air P (Vatech): Specifications per Vatech America product information and authorized dealer listings. Price per Clinicians Report, July 2024 (CR Foundation).
- MaxRay BX-3000K: Specifications and pricing per Iridium Dental product listing (iridiumdental.com).
- X-Vision (Flight Dental Systems): Specifications per Flight Dental Systems product comparison. Price per Clinicians Report, July 2024 (CR Foundation).
- MobileX T-100: Specifications per the Video Dental Concepts product listing for the Remex T-100 (videodental.com).
- XRD 70: Specifications and pricing per XRD Dental Equipment (xrddental.com).
- Pricing reference: Gordon J. Christensen Clinicians Report®, “New Economical Handheld X-ray Units,” July 2024, Vol. 17 Issue 7, CR Foundation® (cliniciansreport.org). Cited for reference; not reproduced.
- CS 2500P (Carestream Dental): pricing ($6,500 with 12-month warranty; $7,000 generator kit with 24-month warranty) and state availability per the official Carestream Dental online store (carestreamdental.com); specifications (70 kV / 2.0 mA fixed, 0.4 mm focal spot) per the official product page (carestreamdental.com), accessed August 2026. Carestream states the CS 2500P is not available for purchase or shipment to Oregon, Kansas, Vermont, Michigan, North Carolina, South Carolina, or Utah.